to main content Stroke Certification | The Joint Commission

Top Five Reasons to Pursue Certification

Here are just a few ways your organization — and your patients — can benefit from these innovative certifications:

  • Designation for excellence in the care of stroke patients
  • Creates a loyal, cohesive clinical team
  • Assists organizations in establishing a consistent approach to care, reducing variation and the risk of error
  • Demonstrates commitment to a higher standard of clinical service
  • Provides a framework to improve patient outcomes

The Differences between Basic and Advanced Certifications

The Joint Commission offers basic and advanced certifications. When looking to achieve certification, you must meet the core requirements in the Disease-Specific Care Manual which include three main components: standards, clinical practice guidelines, and performance measurement. You choose your own measures. When achieving an advanced certification you must meet the core requirements plus additional clinically-specific requirements.

For stroke, there is one basic certification for Rehabilitation and four advanced certifications for Comprehensive Stroke Centers, Thrombectomy-Capable Stroke Centers, Primary Stroke Centers, and Acute Stroke Ready Hospitals.

Find out which certification is right for you.

Take your Organization to a Higher Level

Certification is your organization’s commitment to continuous performance improvement, providing high quality patient care and reducing risks.