to main content Primary Stroke Center Certification | The Joint Commission

Elevate Your Stroke Care

This program is designed for hospitals providing the critical elements to achieve long-term success in improving outcomes for stroke patients.


The top 10 reasons to pursue PSC certification:

  1. Designation for excellence in the care of stroke patients
  2. Creates a loyal, cohesive clinical team
  3. Assists organizations in establishing a consistent approach to care, reducing variation and the risk of error
  4. Demonstrates commitment to a higher standard of clinical service
  5. Provides a framework to improve patient outcomes
  6. Helps to organize teams across the continuum of care
  7. Provides a competitive edge in the marketplace — supports marketing, contracting and reimbursement
  8. Enhances the facility’s ability to attract top-level talent
  9. Strengthens community confidence in the quality and safety of care, treatment and services
  10. Potential to increase patient volumes due to EMS routing protocols

Meet the Unique and Specialized Needs of Stroke Patients

TJC and AHA Primary Stroke CenterOffered in collaboration with the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association achieving Primary Stroke Center (PSC) Certification means you’re making exceptional efforts to foster better outcomes. It’s a signal to your community the quality of care you provide meets the unique and specialized needs of stroke patients.

Performance Measurement

Joint Commission-certified PSCs and organizations seeking initial certification are required to adopt a set of standardized performance measures. Organizations collect monthly data for each measure in the set. The data is then submitted quarterly to The Joint Commission.

Resources to Help You Get Started

Explore the standards, get checklists, tips and access the Review Process Guide.

Contact Us

Our team is here to help you with any questions you may have about certification.