to main content Certification Options for Nursing Care Center Accreditation | The Joint Commission

Certification Options

The Joint Commission also offers various certifications to meet the distinct quality needs of nursing care centers. Certification is available to organizations that are also receiving (or have already obtained) accreditation under the Nursing Care Center Accreditation program.

Post-Acute Care Certification
This option helps you build an effective framework to address the unique care needs of higher acuity or short-stay patients. It highlights the importance of effective care transitions that minimize the risk of unnecessary hospitalizations.

Read why one customer chose post-acute care certification

Memory Care Certification
This certification is aimed at minimizing risks and improving care for patients and residents with all levels of cognitive impairment. The standards address safety of environment, specialized care and service programming, advanced staff training and availability of support groups for families

Disease-Specific Care Certification
Disease-Specific Care Certification is an option for nursing care centers seeking to demonstrate the quality and safety of their organized, programmatic approach to continuing care, treatment, and services for patients and residents with specific diagnoses or post-procedure needs (for example, rehabilitation following orthopedic or cardiac procedures, injury, stroke diagnoses, or trauma-related injuries).

Read why one customer chose disease-specific care certification