to main content Eligibility | The Joint Commission

Determine Your Eligibility

To be eligible for rural health clinic accreditation, the following requirements must be met:

  • The organization is in the United States or its territories or, if outside the United States, is owned or operated by the US government or under a charter of the US Congress.
  • The organization is licensed pursuant to applicable State and local law.
  • Determined by Survey Operations Group (SOG) CMS Locations to meet the following eligibility criteria:
    1. Located in a rural area designated as a shortage area, is not a rehabilitation agency or a facility primarily for the care and treatment of mental diseases, and meets all other requirements of 42 CFR 405 and 491.
    2. A rural health clinic will be certified for participation in Medicare in accordance with subpart S of 42 CFR part 405. The Secretary will notify the State Medicaid agency whenever he has certified or denied certification under Medicare for a prospective rural health clinic in that State. A clinic certified under Medicare will be deemed to meet the standards for certification under Medicaid.
    3. Located in an area defined by the U.S. Census Bureau as non-urbanized
    4. Located in an area currently designated by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) within the last 4 years as 1 of the following:
      1. Primary Care Geographic Health Professional Shortage Area
      2. Primary Care Population-Group Health Professional Shortage Area
      3. Medically Underserved Area
      4. Governor-designated and Secretary-certified Shortage Area
    5. The organization assesses and improves the quality of its care, treatment, and/or services. This process includes a review by clinicians, when appropriate.
    6. The organization identifies the health care services it provides, indicating which care, treatment, and/or services it provides directly, under contract, or through some other arrangement.
    7. The organization provides services addressed by Joint Commission standards.
    8. Has served 10 patients with at least 2 active patients at the time of survey.

Ready to Move On?

Assess Your Eligibility

You've checked that your organization meets these eligibility requirements to be considered for Joint Commission accreditation.

Next Step

Learn about the accreditation process and what happens during a survey.