to main content Take 5 for the John M. Eisenberg Award: Jason S. Adelman | The Joint Commission

Take 5 for the John M. Eisenberg Award: Jason S. Adelman

We’re celebrating the 2022 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award recipients in this special Take 5 series. These awards recognize major achievements to improve patient safety and healthcare quality. There are three recipients each year: for an individual; an organization impacting quality care at a national level; and an organization impacting quality care at a local level.


In this episode, we are joined by Jason S. Adelman, MD, MS, chief patient safety officer and associate chief quality officer; executive director, Center for Patient Safety Research; director, Patient Safety Research Fellowship, Columbia University Irving Medical Center and NewYork-Presbyterian; associate professor of medicine (in biomedical informatics) and vice chair for quality and patient safety, Department of Medicine, Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons.


Dr. Adelman received the Eisenberg Award for Individual Achievement. He is a leader and innovator in the medical errors field and has developed novel methods to measure and prevent errors in health information technology systems. Among Dr. Adelman’s key accomplishments is the development of the Wrong-Patient Retract-and-Reorder (RAR) Measure that detects wrong patient orders in electronic health record data. The RAR Measure has subsequently facilitated a large body of patient safety research, including medication errors and wrong-patient orders in neonatal intensive care units (NICUs). [16:16]


Listen to the other episodes in this series:

Audio Transcript: