Board Facts

The Board consists of 21 voting members, including physicians, administrators, nurses, employers, quality and innovation experts, and educators. The Board includes representatives from each of the Joint Commission’s Corporate Members: American Hospital Association, American Medical Association, American College of Physicians, American College of Surgeons, and American Dental Association. In addition, there are seven public/at-large members and, as an ex-officio member, the Joint Commission President and Chief Executive Officer.

Board Committees and Other Activities

There are six standing board committees: Audit and Firewall Oversight, Executive, Finance, Governance, Human Resources and Executive Compensation, and Strategic Planning. Board members also serve on the Boards of Directors for Joint Commission Resources, Inc. and the Center for Transforming Healthcare, both not-for-profit affiliates of The Joint Commission.

Board of Commissioners

Chair: David Perrott, MD, DDS, MBA, FACS
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon

Vice Chair: Jane D. Englebright, PhD, RN, CENP, FAAN
Chief Nurse Executive and Senior Vice President, HCA Healthcare

Vineet Arora, MD, MAPP
Associate Chief Medical Officer, Clinical Learning Environment; Assistant Dean, Scholarship and Discovery, Pritzker School of Medicine; and Herbert T. Abelson Professor of Medicine; University of Chicago Medicine

John A. Babiarz
Vice Chairman, TriMedx LLC

Victoria W. Bayless, FACHE
Chief Executive Officer, Luminis Health

L.D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc (Hon), FACS, FCCM, FRCSEng (Hon), FRCSEd (Hon), FWACS (Hon), FRCSI (Hon), FCS (SA) (Hon), FRCS (Glasg) (Hon)
Henry Ford Professor and Edward J. Brickhouse Chairman, Department of Surgery, Eastern Virginia Medical School

Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPH
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Joint Commission

Retired Nurse Executive

Joan Doyle, RN, MSN, MBA
Chief Executive Officer, Penn Medicine at Home, Penn Medicine

Jay A. Gregory, MD

Mark A. Kelley, MD, MACP, FRCP
Director, Faculty Leadership Initiative, Department of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital and Visiting Scholar, Harvard Business School

Eric Langshur
Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Abundant Venture Partners and Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, AVIA

Scott C. Malaney, FACHE
President and Chief Executive Officer, Blanchard Valley Health System

William A. McDade, MD, PhD
Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer, Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education

Najmedin Meshkati, PhD, CPE
Professor, Department of Civil/Environmental Engineering, University of Southern California, University Park

Aurie Hollingsworth “Holly” Miller, BA, MA

Chief of Population Health and Director of Cleveland Clinic Community Care, Cleveland Clinic

Joseph J. Parks, MD
Vice President, Practice Improvement and Medical Director, National Council for Behavioral Health and Distinguished Research Professor of Science, University of Missouri St. Louis

Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD, FACS
Professor and Chair Emeritus, University of Washington and Former Chief Medical Officer, UW Medicine

Michael B. Simon, MD, MBA, FASA
Regional Medical Director, North Florida Division, Division of Anesthesiology, Envision Healthcare, Inc. and Chairman, Department of Anesthesiology, Memorial Hospital

Michael Suk, MD, JD, MPH, MBA, FACS
Chief Physician Officer, Geisinger System Services, Geisinger Health System