Certification for Thrombectomy-Capable Stroke Centers | Joint Commission

We published an updated version of our Privacy & Cookies Statement on May 18, 2018. Please take the time to read the updated Privacy & Cookies Statement. This site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation, providing feedback, analyzing your use of our products and services, assisting with our promotional and marketing efforts, and provide content from third parties. Cookies Statement 

Please click below if you do or do not accept cookies

Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Sunday 2:54 CST, August 19, 2018

Certification for Thrombectomy-Capable Stroke Centers

Certification Contact Directory

Patrick Phelan
Executive Director
(630) 792-5145

David Eickemeyer
Associate Director

Caroline Isbey
Associate Director

Zachary George
Associate Director

Francine Topps
Business Development Specialist

Loren Rohal
Associate Director

The Joint Commission in collaboration with the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association is offering a new advanced stroke certification for Thrombectomy-Capable Stroke Centers (TSC) in response to the need to identify hospitals that meet rigorous standards for performing endovascular thrombectomy (EVT).

Why Get Certified as a TSC?

  • Recent studies have shown the efficacy of mechanical thrombectomy for large vessel occlusive ischemic strokes
  • For the best patient outcomes, it is important to have a diverse network of stroke-certified hospitals, so patients can get to the right location as soon as possible

Stroke Brochure


  • Demonstrate compliance with the new standards for TSC certification
  • Meet the minimum mechanical thrombectomy volume requirement (see table below)
  • Demonstrate the ability to perform mechanical thrombectomy 24/7
  • Maintain dedicated intensive care beds for acute ischemic stroke patients
  • Meet the expectations for the availability of staff and practitioners closely aligned with Comprehensive Stroke Center Expectations
  • Collect and review data regarding adverse patient outcomes following mechanical thrombectomy
  • Collect data for 13 standardized performance measures – view the standardized performance measures


  • In order to be eligible for TSC certification, an organization must have performed mechanical thrombectomy and post-procedure care for at least 15 patients with ischemic stroke in the past 12 months or at least 30 patients over the past 24 months.   
  • All primary neurointerventionists (i.e., those who routinely take call to perform emergency mechanical thrombectomy) at an organization applying for TSC certification or recertification must either be certified by the Committee for Advanced Subspecialty Training (CAST) or meet all of the following criteria: 
    • Completed an ACGME-accredited or equivalent residency in neurosurgery, neurology, or radiology; 
    • For neurologists: completed a stroke or neurocritical care fellowship supervised by the ACGME, CAST, or UCNS; or other equivalent oversight body 
    • For radiologists: completed neuroradiology subspecialty fellowship supervised by the ACGME, CAST, or UCNS; or other equivalent oversight body 
    • Completed neuroendovascular procedure training in a CAST-accredited program or a similarly rigorous training program; and 
    • Performed an average of 15 mechanical thrombectomies over the past 12 months or 30 over the past 24 months  
      • In evaluating the number of mechanical thrombectomies performed, procedures performed at hospitals other than the one applying for TSC certification can be included in the total 

Application Process

Organizations interested in pursuing TSC advanced certification may apply beginning January 1, 2018.

For more information, complete our form or call (630) 792-5291 or email certification@jointcommission.org for a complimentary overview of the standards.