to main content Laboratory Test Complexity - Waived, Moderate and High | Critical Access Hospital | Waived Testing WT | The Joint Commission
Laboratory Test Complexity - Waived, Moderate and High

How can I verify the test complexity designation for a particular laboratory test?

Any examples are for illustrative purposes only.

Commercial test systems are evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and assigned one of the three following complexity designations: Waived Moderate High Moderate and High complexity are often referred to as "non-waived" testing. The complexity designation may be printed in the manufacturer's package insert. It can also be searched online in the FDA's database:
Last updated on March 11, 2021
Manual: Critical Access Hospital
Chapter: Waived Testing WT

If no, please comment on how we could improve this response.

If you have additional standards-related questions regarding this topic, please use the Standards Online Submission Form
Surgeons in an operating room

Additional Resources

Train your staff with a tool to quickly and efficiently assess standards compliance with our 2021 Hospital Compliance Assessment Workbook.

A group of medical professionals have a discussion in a meeting room

Hospital Webinars

Keep learning with our Hospital Breakfast Briefings Webinar Series. Get a deep dive into our standards, chapter-by-chapter, individually or as a team.

Female doctor using digital tablet in her office.

Looking for Standards?

Get key information your hospital needs to achieve and maintain continuous standards compliance and experience operational improvement.