to main content Eisenberg Award Previous Recipients | The Joint Commission

Eisenberg Award Previous Recipients

20th Annual Eisenberg Award Recipients

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF) are pleased to recognize the recipients of the 20th John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards. The Eisenberg Awards recognize major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality.

This year’s recipients improved diagnostic safety and the safety of health information technology, addressed social determinants of health to improve patient outcomes and created advanced patient monitoring systems and alerts that have saved patients’ lives. The 2021 awardees are listed below.

Additional information about these initiatives and individuals are available within:

Individual Achievement Awardee

Hardeep Singh, MD, MPH
Chief of the Health Policy, Quality & Informatics Program in the Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness and Safety at Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center and professor at Baylor College of Medicine

Dr. Singh is recognized for his expansive, pioneering career in diagnostic safety and health IT safety. He has succeeded in translating his research into pragmatic tools, strategies and innovations for improving patient safety.

National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality

Prime Healthcare Services, Improving and Promoting Social Determinants of Health at a System Level

Prime Healthcare Services is commended for establishing a program to address social determinants of health (SDOH). The initiative, “Improving and Promoting Social Determinants of Health at a System Level,” aims to help providers more effectively deliver patient care and reduce healthcare disparities. After implementing a new screening tool, community partnerships and bidirectional communications flow, Prime Healthcare Services observed improvements in all-cause hospital-wide readmission rates.

Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality

Kaiser Permanente Northern California, Advance Alert Monitor – Automated Early Warning System of Adults at Risk

Kaiser Permanente Northern California is honored for its life-saving initiative, “Advance Alert Monitor – Automated Early Warning System of Adults at Risk.” Kaiser Permanente developed a predictive analytic system called Advance Alert Monitor (AAM) that proactively identifies patients with a high risk of mortality or transfer to the ICU. Evaluation of the program showed statistically significant decreases in mortality with between 550 to 3,020 lives saved over four years. Data also indicated improvements in ICU admission rates, length of hospital stay, in-hospital morbidity and mortality within 30 days of an alert.

Honorary Eisenberg Lifetime Achievement Award

Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPH, President Emeritus, The Joint Commission.

The Joint Commission and NQF have awarded Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPH, former president and CEO of The Joint Commission and current president emeritus, with an Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award. During his 14 years as president, Dr. Chassin oversaw the activities of the nation’s predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in healthcare. He introduced profound changes to Joint Commission accreditation and certification programs during that time. Under his leadership, accreditation shifted away from simply citing deficiencies to helping to drive improvement, as summarized in the motto, “Evaluate, educate and inspire.” 


Learn more about the 2021 and 2020 awardees by listening to Take 5 Podcasts with The Joint Commission.

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners  

Contact us