Welcome | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Friday 7:15 CST, April 20, 2018


Whether or not you visited us before, you'll only see this page once.  Choose a path below so we can give you the best information possible.


Resources for Achieving Critical Access Hospital Accreditation

Achieve the Gold Seal

Resources for Maintaining Critical Access Hospital Accreditation


What is accreditation?

Joint Commission accreditation can be earned by many types of health care organizations, including hospitals, doctor’s offices, nursing homes, office-based surgery centers, behavioral health treatment facilities, and providers of home care services.  For questions e-mail achievethegoldseal@jointcommission.org

Critical Access Hospitals are hospitals identified by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services as having met, or eligible to meet, the conditions for becoming a CAH, that is, the hospital:

  • Maintains no more than 25 total beds, including both acute care and/or swing beds.
  • Keeps patients hospitalized 96 hours or less.
  • Has received authorization to become a Critical Access Hospital from the state office of rural health.