to main content Eligibility for Behavioral Health Accreditation | The Joint Commission

Settings and Services

The Joint Commission surveys many types of organizations under the behavioral health care standards, including mental health services, addiction treatment, eating disorders treatment, ID/DD services, and social service/human service agencies serving children and families. Accredited organizations may serve people throughout the life span or specialize in an age or disability group. A standards applicability process in the Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Behavioral Health Care (CAMBHC) identifies which standards apply to the various settings and populations and includes:

  • Addiction treatment services including medication-assisted therapy
  • Case management
  • Child welfare/human services
  • Corrections programs
  • Crisis stabilization (24-hour acute care)
  • Day programs, such as intensive outpatient, adult day care, or partial hospitalization
  • Eating disorders treatment
  • Family preservation/wraparound services
  • Forensic programs or services
  • Foster care, traditional or therapeutic
  • Group Homes
  • In-home behavioral health
  • Mental health programs and services
  • Office-based opioid treatment (OBOT)
  • Opioid treatment programs/methadone centers
  • Outdoor behavioral health programs
  • Outpatient programs
  • Residential treatment programs/QRTPs
  • Services for the intellectually or developmentally disabled
  • Tele-behavioral health/technology-based programs
  • Therapeutic schools
  • Transitional living/supervised or supportive care
  • Vocational rehabilitation
  • Programs and services supporting recovery, such as care coordination, community integration, supported employment services, family and peer support

Determine Your Eligibility

Any behavioral health care organization can apply for a Joint Commission accreditation survey under the standards in the Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Behavioral Healthcare (CAMBHC) if the following requirements are met:

  • The behavioral health care organization is in the United States or its territories or, if outside the United States, is operated by the United States government, under a charter of the United States Congress, or for other behavioral health care organizations outside of the United States that meet the following criteria:
    • The nature of the behavioral health care practices the organization provides is compatible with the intent of the Joint Commission standards;
    • With the use of available translators if necessary, the surveyor(s) can effectively communicate with organization management and clinical personnel and at least half of the organization's clients, and can understand clinical/case records and documents that relate to the organization's performance; or
    • United States citizens make up at least 10 percent of the organization's client population or a United States government agency contracts with the organization to provide services to United States citizens or United States citizens preferentially use the organization in that country.
    • The organization assesses and improves the quality of its services. This process includes a review of care by clinicians, when appropriate.
    • The organization identifies the services it provides, indicating which services it provides directly, under contract, or through some other arrangement.
    • The organization provides services addressed by the Joint Commission's standards.

Ready to Move On?

Assess Your Eligibility

You've checked that your organization meets these eligibility requirements to be considered for Joint Commission accreditation.

Next Step

Learn about the accreditation process and what happens during a survey.