to main content Board of Commissioners Fact Sheet | The Joint Commission

Board of Commissioners Fact Sheet

The Board of Commissioners consists of 21 voting members, including physicians, administrators, nurses, employers, quality and innovation experts, and educators. The Board includes representatives from each of the Joint Commission’s corporate members: American Hospital Association, American Medical Association, American College of Physicians, American College of Surgeons, and American Dental Association. In addition, there are seven public/at-large members and, as an ex-officio member, the Joint Commission President and Chief Executive Officer.

Board Committees and Other Activities

There are six standing board committees: Audit and Firewall Oversight, Executive, Finance, Governance, Human Resources and Executive Compensation, and Strategic Planning. Board members also serve on the Boards of Directors for Joint Commission Resources, Inc. and the Center for Transforming Healthcare, both not-for-profit affiliates of The Joint Commission.

Board of Commissioners

Chair: Jane D. Englebright, PhD, RN, FAAN
Retired Chief Nurse Executive and Senior Vice President, HCA Healthcare

Vice Chair: Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD, FACS
Professor and Chair Emeritus, University of Washington

Vineet Arora, MD, MAPP
Herbert T. Abelson Professor of Medicine and Dean for Medical Education of the Biological Sciences Division, University of Chicago

Victoria W. Bayless, FACHE
Chief Executive Officer, Luminis Health

Ana L. English, MBA
President and Chief Executive Officer, Center for Improving Value in Health Care

Melinda L. Estes, MD, MBA
President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Luke’s Health System

Jay A. Gregory, MS, MD

Christopher A. Hart, MEng, JD
Founder, Hart Solutions LLC

Tracey L. Henry, MD, MPH, MS
Associate Professor of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine

Jill Hoggard Greene, PhD, RN
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Queen’s Health Systems

Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MBBS, MPH, DSc (Hon), FACS, FWACS (Hon)
Professor of Surgery and Professor of Traumatology and Emergency Medicine, University of Connecticut

Eric Langshur
Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Abundant Venture Partners

Najmedin Meshkati, PhD, CPE
Professor of Civil/Environmental Engineering, University of Southern California, University Park

Aurie Hollingsworth “Holly” Miller, BA, MA

Joseph J. Parks, MD
Medical Director, National Council for Mental Wellbeing

Jonathan B. Perlin, MD, PhD, MSHA, MACP, FACMI
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Joint Commission

Michael B. Simon, MD, MBA, FASA
Chairman, Department of Anesthesiology, HCA Healthcare, Memorial Hospital

Marvin (James) Strohschein, Jr., DDS
Dental Director, One Community Health

Michael Suk, MD, JD, MPH, MBA, FACS
Chief Physician Officer, Geisinger System Services, Geisinger Health System

Willie Underwood, III, MD, MSc, MPH, FACS
Executive Director, Buffalo Center for Health Equity

Ena Williams, PhD, MBA, MSM, BSN, RN, CENP
Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, Yale-New Haven Hospital

Read More