to main content Eligibility for Home Care Accreditation | The Joint Commission

Settings that We Accredit

The Joint Commission home care accreditation program serves organizations providing care in the patient's place of residence or those offering community-based services such as pharmacies. The types of settings most commonly served include:

  • Home Health
    According to a recent comparative analysis of the CMS Home Health Compare data set, Joint Commission-accredited home health providers perform statistically better on nearly 70 percent of the CMS 5-Star Quality Ratings measures making these agencies the partner of choice for physicians, hospitals, health systems, ACOs and payers.

Learn more about home health

  • Hospice 
    Joint Commission-accredited hospices demonstrate a deep abiding commitment to quality end-of-life care. This makes them the ‘partner of choice’ throughout the care continuum. The Joint Commission is also nationally recognized by CMS for Medicare certification and by many states for licensure requirements.

Learn more about hospice

  • Pharmacies
    We give pharmacy leaders relevant performance guidelines that drive sustainable improvements in patient safety, quality, and operational reliability. This positions providers as the ‘partner of choice’ in their respective markets.

Learn more about pharmacies

    Distinguish your company as a quality-focused care partner. The Joint Commission is nationally recognized by CMS for all components of DMEPOS services. We are also recognized by many states for DMEPOS licensure requirements. Our industry experience in health care safety and quality makes us one of the most widely recognized accreditor by payers and referral sources.

Learn more about DMEPOS

  • Personal Care 
    Stand out in the personal care and support market. Earn the industry’s most recognized quality and safety distinction. Accreditation will validate your reliability, minimize risk for your clients and staff, and give you a competitive edge.

Learn more about personal care


Organizations seeking Joint Commission home care accreditation must meet certain eligibility requirements. For example, your facility must be U.S. owned and operated, provide direct patient care, satisfy necessary licensure or registration regulations, and meet minimum requirements including the number of patients served. Eligibility requirements will differ based on the services provided and survey option you select. 

Ready to Move On?

Assess Your Eligibility

You've checked that your organization meets these eligibility requirements to be considered for Joint Commission accreditation.

Next Step

Learn about the accreditation process and what happens during a survey.