Joint Commission

Topic Library Item

Venous Thromboembolism

March 30, 2017

The venous thromboembolism (VTE) measures were developed as a result of the ‘National Consensus Standards for the Prevention and Care of Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)’ project between The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum (NQF) that formally began in January 2005.  The development process was guided by the expertise and advice provided by the NQF steering committee (SC) and the Joint Commission’s technical advisory panel (TAP).  Since measure implementation, the measure maintenance process continues to be guided by the expertise and advice provided by the TAP.
Six VTE measures were originally endorsed by the NQF in May, 2008 and aligned with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.  In 2012, the six VTE measures were re-engineered into electronic quality measures (eCQM).

In 2017, VTE-1 and VTE-2 are electronic clinical quality measures (eCQM) available for selection by hospitals to meet hospital accreditation program requirements for eCQMs. VTE-6 is the lone remaining measure required for chart abstracted measures.

The VTE measures can be found in the Specifications Manual for National Hospital Inpatient Quality Measures. Submit your questions about VTE measure specifications to the Performance Measurement Network Q&A Forum.

Set Measure  ID Measure Short Name
VTE-1 Venous Thromboembolism Prophylaxis
VTE-2 Intensive Care Unit Venous Thromboembolism Prophylaxis
VTE-6 Hospital Acquired Potentially-Preventable Venous Thromboembolism


Important Information