Stroke | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Monday 7:28 CST, May 21, 2018

Topic Details


Topic Library Item


January 5, 2017

The stroke (STK) measures were developed in collaboration with the American Heart Association (AHA)/American Stroke Association (ASA)/Brain Attack Coalition (BAC) for use by Disease-Specific Care (DSC)-certified primary stroke centers. The measure maintenance process is guided by expertise and advice provided by the Stroke Measure Maintenance Technical Advisory Panel. Seven measures in the stroke set were re-endorsed by the National Quality Forum (NQF) in October 2016 with STK-4 Thrombolytic Therapy receiving full measure re-endorsement and 6 measures designated inactive reserve status.

The STK measure specifications are detailed in the Specification Manual for Joint Commission National Quality Measures. Specifications for the STK electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs) are available at

Submit your questions about STK measure specifications to the Performance Measurement Network Q&A Forum.

Important Information