to main content The Joint Commission, National Quality Forum seek submissions for 2020 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards | The Joint Commission

The Joint Commission, National Quality Forum seek submissions for 2020 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards

Submissions encouraged for patient safety and quality challenges affecting public health including but not limited to COVID-19 and pandemic response efforts Tuesday, August 25 2020

(OAKBROOK TERRACE, ILLINOISand WASHINGTON, DC) – Two of the nation’s leaders in health care quality and patient safety, The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF), are seeking submissions for the 2020 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality AwardsThis patient safety awards program was launched in 2002 in honor of the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), and an impassioned advocate for health care quality improvement with enduring contributions and leadership to the health care field.


The Eisenberg Awards recognize major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality. Previous winners include Gordon D. Schiff, MD, Brent C. James, MD, HCA Healthcare, The Society of Thoracic Surgeons, WellSpan Health, and BJC HealthCare, among many others who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to improving patient safety and health care quality.


Submissions are accepted for awards in three categories:  

  • Individual Achievement – Individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and health care quality through a substantive lifetime body of work. 

  • National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality – project or initiative that extends beyond local areas to being implemented on a national level.

  • Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality – A project or initiative that effects impact at the local community, organization or regional level (e.g., statewide).


Health care organizations submitting nominations for the local and national level innovation awards must be able to provide evidence of sustained improvements for at least 12 months. Exceptions to this rule will be made for initiatives related to COVID-19 and pandemic response efforts, as The Joint Commission and NQF recognize the need to share best practices for the rapid improvement of COVID-19 patient care nationwide. 


The award submission period opened on Aug. 24, 2020 and closes on Oct. 5, 2020. Applications will be evaluated by a panel of experts and leaders in healthcare quality and safety, chaired by Carolyn Clancy, MD, Deputy Undersecretary for Discovery, Education and Affiliate Networks (10X), Veterans Health AdministrationInterested parties may learn more about past Eisenberg Award achievements onThe Joint Commission’s and NQF’s websites and can apply for the award here



About The Joint Commission

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 22,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at


Media Contact: 

Hannah Miller

Corporate Communications 

(630) 792-5174


About National Quality Forum (NQF)

The National Quality Forum (NQF) works with members of the healthcare community to drive measurable health improvements together. NQF is a not-for-profit, membership-based organization that gives all healthcare stakeholders a voice in advancing quality measures and improvement strategies that lead to better outcomes and greater value. Learn more at


Media Contact: 

Proof Strategies



  • Ambulatory Health Care
  • Behavioral Health Care
  • Critical Access Hospital
  • Diagnostic Imaging Services
  • Home Care
  • Hospital
  • Laboratory
  • Long Term Care
  • Nursing Care Center
  • Office-Based Surgery