What is required for Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers? | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Monday 10:23 CST, April 23, 2018

Topic Details


Topic Library Item

Requirements for Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers

August 4, 2014

What is required for Certification?

  1. Standards: programs applying for Primary Stroke Center Certification will be evaluated using the standards in the Disease-Specific Care Certification Manual.

  2. Clinical Practice Guidelines: The program must demonstrate conformity with clinical practice guidelines or evidence-based practice. This includes the Primary Stroke Center–specific requirements that are integrated within the Disease-Specific Care manual, in the section titled “Advanced Disease-Specific Care Certification Requirements for Primary Stroke Center.”

  3. Performance Measures: All certified Primary Stroke Centers are required to comply with the performance measurement requirements for the program.  The eight Joint Commission core measures for Stroke must have data collected monthly by all Primary StrokeCenters seeking to maintain certification. The specifications for the eight Joint Commission core stroke measures can be found in the Specification Manual for National Hospital Inpatient Quality Measures.

For additional information about this program, please call 630-792-5291 or email DSCinfo@jointcommission.org.