The Joint Commission
Saturday 4:56 CST, January 20, 2018

National Patient Safety Goals

Below are links to the 2012 National Patient Safety Goals (NPSGs).  Included on each program's pages are chapters and easy-to-read versions.

The Joint Commission approved one new National Patient Safety Goal for 2012 that focuses on catheter-associated urinary tract infection (CAUTI) for the hospital and critical access hospital accreditation programs. For more information visit the Prepublication Standards section. There are no new NPSGs effective in 2012 for the other accreditation programs.  The 2012 easy-to-read versions are also available.

For frequently asked questions (FAQs) about the NPSGs, visit the Standards FAQs section


Quality Check

Joint Commission Vision
All people always experience the safest, highest quality, best-value health care across all settings.