The Joint Commission
Wednesday 10:42 CST, February 21, 2018

Critical Access Hospitals

The Joint Commission has accredited hospitals for more than 50 years. In 2001, The Joint Commission introduced a new program to accredit critical access hospitals. CAHs are hospitals identified by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services as having met, or eligible to meet, the conditions for becoming a Critical Access Hospital.

For more information see Facts about Critical Access Hospital Accreditation.

Quality Check

Joint Commission Vision
All people always experience the safest, highest quality, best-value health care across all settings.