News Details | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Friday 7:33 CST, April 20, 2018

News Details


News Item

Individuals and initiatives advancing patient safety & quality sought for John M. Eisenberg Award nomination

September 5, 2017
By: Elizabeth Eaken Zhani, Media Relations Manager, The Joint Commission

(OAKBROOK TERRACE, Illinois - Sept. 7, 2017) The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum (NQF) seek nominations for the 2017 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards, recognizing individuals as well as local and national-level initiatives across the country that have advanced patient safety and health care quality.

Nominations will be accepted through Monday, Oct. 30. To learn more and complete an online nomination, visit

Each year, The Joint Commission and NQF present the Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards to recognize outstanding achievements by individuals and organizations in all health care settings that advance aims of the federal National Quality Strategy: better care, healthy people and communities, and smarter spending.

The 2017 awardees will be notified in January, and honored March 12 at NQF’s 2018 Annual Conference in Washington D.C. Eisenberg Award nominations are sought in three categories:

  • Individual Achievement: Individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and health care quality through a substantive lifetime body of work.

  • National Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality: An original and innovative project or initiative with national scope that has produced system changes or interventions that make the environment of care safer, or advocate on the patient’s behalf. Such projects may involve new technologies, protocols and procedures, education, organization culture, legislation, the media, patient advocacy, and systems theory.

  • Local Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality: A project or initiative that has created impact at the local community, organizational, state or regional level. Once again, technologies, protocols and procedures, education, organization culture, legislation, the media, patient advocacy, and systems theory all represent opportunities for award consideration.  

Carolyn Clancy, MD, deputy under secretary for Health for Organizational Excellence, Veterans Health Administration, Washington, D.C.; Boston Children’s Hospital’s I-Pass Study Group, and Christiana Care Health System, Wilmington, Delaware, were honored as 2016 Eisenberg recipients. 

The Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety recently dedicated an issue to profiling all three recipients. The features included focus on the I-Pass Study Group for its work to improve handoffs of care and Christiana Care Health System’s development of Care Link CareNow—a robust information technology-enabled network of care coordination.    

Established in 2002, the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards honor the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the federal Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. An impassioned advocate for health care quality improvement, Dr. Eisenberg was a founding member of the NQF board of directors.

The Eisenberg Awards bring together the nation’s quality community to honor groundbreaking quality and patient safety initiatives. Past award winners developed programs to substantially reduce re-admissions, decrease healthcare-associated infection rates and improve safety culture in the workplace.


The Joint Commission
Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

The National Quality Forum
The National Quality Forum leads national collaboration to improve health and healthcare quality through measurement. Learn more at

See Comments

Related Topics: News Releases



To post a comment, Log In or Sign Up
No comments have been posted, be the first one to comment.