Facts about the National Patient Safety Goals | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Tuesday 6:56 CST, March 20, 2018

Topic Details


Topic Library Item

Facts about the National Patient Safety Goals

December 28, 2017

In 2002, The Joint Commission established its National Patient Safety Goals (NPSGs) program; the first set of NPSGs was effective January 1, 2003. The NPSGs were established to help accredited organizations address specific areas of concern in regard to patient safety. 

Development of the Goals
A panel of widely recognized patient safety experts advise The Joint Commission on the development and updating of NPSGs. This panel, called the Patient Safety Advisory Group, is composed of nurses, physicians, pharmacists, risk managers, clinical engineers and other professionals who have hands-on experience in addressing patient safety issues in a wide variety of health care settings. The Patient Safety Advisory Group works with Joint Commission staff to identify emerging patient safety issues, and advises The Joint Commission on how to address those issues in NPSGs, Sentinel Event Alerts, standards and survey processes, performance measures, educational materials, and Center for Transforming Healthcare projects. Following a solicitation of input from practitioners, provider organizations, purchasers, consumer groups and other stakeholders, The Joint Commission determines the highest priority patient safety issues and how best to address them. The Joint Commission also determines whether a goal is applicable to a specific accreditation program and, if so, tailors the goal to be program-specific.

Changes effective for 2018

  • NPSG.07.03.01 — multidrug-resistant organisms (MDROs): Has been applicable to hospitals and critical access hospitals and is now applicable to nursing care centers. The note has been revised to include carbapenem-resistent enterobacteriaceae (CRE) as one of the organisms covered by the goal, and the goal has been revised to allow organizations to determine the appropriate time frame for education. 

  • NPSG.07.04.01 — central line-associated bloodstream infections (CLABSIs): The elements of performance (EPs) for hospitals and critical access hospitals have been reordered, and the goal has been modified to allow organizations to determine the appropriate time frame for educating staff and licensed independent practitioners. Similar modifications were made for nursing care centers, and the requirement for the education of residents and patients has been added.

Read more about National Patient Safety Goals

Submit questions online or call 630-792-5900