Facts about Joint Commission stroke certification | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Wednesday 1:52 CST, January 17, 2018

Topic Details


Topic Library Item

Facts about Joint Commission stroke certification

April 21, 2017

The Joint Commission offers three advanced levels of certification for stroke programs in Joint Commission-accredited hospitals:

The stroke program requirements were developed in collaboration with the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association (AHA/ASA). Applicants for advanced certification must meet the requirements for Disease-Specific Care Certification plus additional, clinically specific requirements and expectations. Each stroke program has different requirements for diagnostic testing capability, neurosurgical services and clinical performance measures. A comparison grid provides specific requirements for each program. The table below provides some examples of expectations of hospitals that have attained advanced stroke certification.

Read more about certification   

Email us or call 630-792-5291.