Facts about Hospital Accreditation | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Sunday 6:46 CST, August 20, 2017

Topic Details


Topic Library Item

Facts about Hospital Accreditation

January 24, 2017

The Joint Commission has accredited hospitals for more than 60 years and today it accredits approximately 4,023 general, pediatric, long term acute, psychiatric, rehabilitation and specialty hospitals, and 366 critical access hospitals, through a separate accreditation program. Approximately 77 percent of the nation's hospitals are currently accredited by The Joint Commission, and approximately 88 percent of hospitals that are accredited in the United States are accredited by The Joint Commission.

The Joint Commission offers hospitals a number of voluntary, add-on certification options, including:

  • Patient Blood Management Certification: An evidence-based approach, based on the AABB Standards for a Patient Blood Management Program, that can help hospitals realize the maximum benefits of establishing a comprehensive patient blood management program. The certification encompasses all aspects of patient evaluation and clinical management surrounding the transfusion decision-making process. It can reduce the need for allogenic blood transfusions and reduce health care costs, while ensuring that blood components are available for the patients who need them. The certification combines an internationally accepted quality management system structure with appropriate patient blood management technical requirements.
  • Integrated Care Certification: Focuses on improving coordination across the continuum of care, beginning with hospital and ambulatory care settings. This certification assesses how well an organization integrates information sharing, transitions of care, hand-off communications and other key activities as a patient moves between the hospital and outpatient care settings. The standards are designed to be flexible to accommodate different system types, from hospital systems with multiple campuses to large multispecialty groups to small independent hospitals and primary care practices. The goal of the certification is to improve transitions in care and management of complex conditions.
  • Primary Care Medical Home: Designed for hospitals that have ambulatory care services that include the provision of primary care services offered by a primary care clinician. The requirements address operational characteristics related to patient-centered care, comprehensive care, coordinated care, access to care, and a systems-based approach to quality and safety. This option is consistent with the federal health care reform efforts to improve health outcomes and the coordination, quality and efficiency of health care services, and is based on the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality’s definition of a medical home.

Cost of accreditation
Annual fees for hospitals are based on the type of hospital and weighted values for volume based on the types of service provided by a hospital. Customers receive the annual fee invoice in January of each year; new customers receive their annual fee after submitting their application for accreditation. The on-site survey fee is billed within seven days of the survey’s completion. Health systems have the option to receive a corporate orientation or corporate summation. These can be conducted by the team leader, by a team member, by video conference or a summation report. The Joint Commission posts its pricing schedule on the Joint Commission Connect extranet.

Read more about hospital accreditation

Contact Us or call:

630-792-5900 – Standards information

630-792-3007 – Hospital accreditation

630-792-5778 – Hospital systems (in all states)

630-792-5115 or pricingunit@jointcommission.org – Pricing information