Eligibility for Disease-Specific Care Certification | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Monday 7:28 CST, May 21, 2018

Topic Details


Topic Library Item

Types of Disease-Specific Care Programs Certified

November 5, 2010

The Joint Commission Disease-Specific Care Certification evaluates the following:

  •  Programs that provide clinical care directly to participants. Examples include, but are not limited to services provided in hospitals, long term care health care settings, home care organizations,
    health plans, integrated delivery systems, rehabilitation centers, physician groups, and disease
    management service companies.
  • Programs that provide comprehensive clinical support and that interact directly with participants
    on site, by telephone, or through online services or other electronic resources. Examples include,
    but are not limited to, disease management companies and health care plans with disease management services.

This grid lists the disease states, conditions, or procedures that can currently be evaluated under the Disease- Specific Care Certification program. If you are considering certification for a disease or condition not listed here, please contact us to review eligibility.


Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm
Coronary Artery Bypass Graft
Pediatric Diabetes
Acute Coronary Syndrome
Coronary Artery Disease
Pediatric Eating Disorder
Acute Myocardial Infarction
Pediatric Obesity
Advanced Chronic Kidney Disease
Pediatric Sleeping Disorder
Advanced Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Diabetes Mellitus
Pediatric Trauma
Advanced Congestive Heart Failure
Peripheral Vascular Disease
Advanced Inpatient Diabetes
Eating Disorders
Advanced LVRS
End Stage Renal Disease
Prostate Cancer
Advanced Primary Stroke Center
Pulmonary Rehabilitation
Advanced VAD
Fetal Cardiac Anomaly
Renal Cancer
Alzheimer’s Disease
Hip Fracture
Respiratory Distress in Preterm Infants
Respiratory Failure
Bariatric Surgery
Self Injury
Bone Marrow Transplant
Joint Replacement Hip
Sickle Cell Disease
Brain Injury Rehab
Joint Replacement Knee
Sleeping Disorder
Breast Cancer
Joint Replacement Shoulder
Spinal Cord Injury
Spinal Fusion
Cardiac Rehab
Low Back Pain
Stroke Rehabilitation
Carotid Stenosis
Lung Cancer
Traumatic Brain Injury
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
Morbid Obesity
Wound Care
Chemical Dependancy
Multi-system Trauma
Chronic Kidney Disease
Normal Delivery
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Orthopedic Trauma
Colorectal Cancer
Pancreatic Cancer
Congestive Heart Failure
Pediatric Asthma


Learn more Facts about Disease-Specific Care Certification