Performance Measures for Comprehensive Stroke Centers | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Friday 8:54 CST, February 5, 2016

Topic Details


Topic Library Item

Comprehensive Stroke Certification: Standardized Performance Measures

September 2, 2015

Performance Measures

Comprehensive Stroke Centers must continue to meet the performance measure requirements for Primary Stroke Centers. Certified Comprehensive Stroke Centers will continue to collect data for the eight Joint Commission stroke core measures.  Monthly data points should be submitted every quarter through the Certification Measure Information Process (CMIP) available through The Joint Commission Connect™ Extranet site.

The stroke core (STK) measures can be found in the current version of the Specification Manual for National Hospital Inpatient Quality Measures. For questions about stroke core measure specifications, please submit your question online.

New Measures

The Joint Commission has approved a set of standardized performance measures for Disease Specific Care Comprehensive Stroke Certification.  These comprehensive stroke (CSTK) measures were developed for  the management of both ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke patients in hospitals equipped with the clinical expertise, infrastructure, and specialized neurointerventional and imaging services needed to provide the next level of stroke care. 

The CSTK measure set comprises eight new standardized measures which will be mandatory requirements for all currently certified comprehensive stroke programs as well as programs seeking initial comprehensive stroke certification.  Data for these eight CSTK measures will be collected in addition to the eight stroke (STK) core measures required for primary stroke center certification, elevating the performance measurement requirement for comprehensive stroke certification to  a total of 16 measures.

Comprehensive stroke programs will be required to implement specifications and collect data for the eight new CSTK measures beginning with discharges on and after January 1, 2015. The links to the Comprehensive Stroke (CSTK) Performance Measurement Implementation Guide and the Specifications Manual for National Hospital Inpatient Quality Measures detailing the stroke core measure specifications are below:



For additional information about comprehensive stroke or Disease-Specific Care Certification, please submit your question to