The Joint Commission
Monday 9:02 CST, October 23, 2017


The Joint Commission has accredited hospitals for more than 60 years and today it accredits approximately 4,168 general, children’s, long term acute, psychiatric, rehabilitation and specialty hospitals, and 378 critical access hospitals, through a separate accreditation program.   The Joint Commission recognizes accredited hospitals and critical access hospitals that attained and sustained excellence in accountability measure performance during calendar year 2010, as “Top Performers on Key Quality Measures."


  Types of hospitals are:

  • General
  • Children’s
  • Long Term Acute Care (LTACH)
  • Oncology
  • Psychiatric
  • Rehabilitation
  • Specialty (Cardiac, Orthopedic, Surgical)

For more information see Facts about Hospital Accreditation.

Interesting in becoming accredited?  E-mail us at

Hospital Accreditation Contact Directory

Jeff Conway, MPH
Director, CMS & Hospital/CAH Programs

Quality Check

Joint Commission Vision
All people always experience the safest, highest quality, best-value health care across all settings.