Advanced Certification in Heart Failure: Standardized Performance Measures | Joint Commission
Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook Vimeo linkedIn Share with your Friends Print this Page
Friday 10:33 CST, February 12, 2016

Topic Details


Topic Library Item

Advanced Certification in Heart Failure: Standardized Performance Measures

November 17, 2015

Two sets of standardized performance measures for Disease Specific Care Advanced Certification in Heart Failure (ACHF) were introduced by The Joint Commission in 2013. These measures were developed to better evaluate the care provided to the heart failure patient with an emphasis on transitions of care.

The ACHF measure set comprises six mandatory inpatient measures and seven optional outpatient measures to assist organizations with the care of the HF patient as they transition from inpatient to outpatient care. Although the seven outpatient measures are optional, organizations are strongly encouraged to collect data if the data are available and accessible to the organization.

To meet performance measure requirements for ACHF, effective January 1, 2015, organizations are required to collect data for the six mandatory inpatient measures.  The links to the ACHF performance measure implementation guides are below. 

Please note:  The ACHF Performance Measurement Implementation Guide for the inpatient ACHF measures has been updated.



  • Coming February 2016